Dr. Kevin James

Dr. Kevin James is the 19th President of Morris Brown College, a historical Black college in Atlanta, Georgia. Under his leadership, the college regained accreditation after a nearly twenty-year hiatus, becoming the first HBCU to achieve such a feat. Driven by a commitment to Morris Brown’s legacy, he initiated the #TheHardReset campaign, successfully restoring the institution to compliance and recognition by the Department of Education.

With a career spanning over 23 years as an educator, administrator, executive business leader, and motivational speaker, Dr. James brings a wealth of experience to his role as the Chief Executive Officer of the college. He has been responsible for stabilizing finances, expanding academic offerings, increasing fundraising, launching a new five-year strategic plan, and achieving record-breaking enrollment in the past two decades.

Under Dr. James’ leadership, the institution secured full accreditation from the Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools (TRACS) on April 26, 2022, enabling the college to regain access to federal financial aid programs and Title IV funding. He also solidified Morris Brown College’s reinstatement as a participant in the Strengthening Historically Black Colleges and Universities program under Title III.



As A Higher Education Administrator,
Executive Business Leader, & Motivational Speaker 

Throughout his tenure, Dr. James has received numerous accolades and awards for his contributions to higher education, business, and executive leadership. In 2024, Dr. James was named Titan 100 of Georgia. The Titan 100 recognizes the top 100 CEOs & C-level executives in the state who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, vision, and passion. Collectively the 2024 Georgia Titan 100 and their companies employ more than 125,000 individuals and generate over $31 billion in annual revenues. Moreover, Dr. James was named HBCU College President of the Year by Our HBCU’s Matter Foundation, Most Admired CEO by the Atlanta Business Chronicle in 2023, and Atlanta’s Top 500 Leader for the last three consecutive years.

Dr. Kevin James is a renowned speaker, insightful thinker, and staunch advocate for educational accessibility. He is regularly sought after as a mentor, lecturer, and agent of strategic change, particularly at HBCUs. Highly esteemed as an innovator and authority on higher education, particularly regarding underserved communities, he is a highly sought after keynote speaker having spoken of the topic of HBCUs and addressing equity and inclusion in higher education and the unique challenges of minority-serving institutions.

He has been featured in prominent media outlets, including CNN, CBS, NBC, and FOX, and in leading news publications such as U.S. News, Forbes, Black Enterprise, The Root, NewsOne, TheGrio, HBCU Times, Diverse Issues in Higher Education, Inside Higher Education, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Atlanta Business Chronicle, Atlanta Voice, Atlanta Magazine, and The Atlanta Tribune, further highlighting his impact and influence.

In addition to his role at Morris Brown College, Dr. James is actively involved in various organizations and serves on the boards of the African Methodist Episcopal Church Worldwide, the Georgia Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Kappa Kappa Psi, and the Historic Oakland Foundation, among others. He is a member of prestigious honor societies and organizations such as Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society, Golden Key International Honor Society, Kappa Kappa Psi National Honorary Band Fraternity, and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc.

Dr. James holds a bachelor’s degree in Communication Disorders and Social Sciences from Winthrop University, a master’s degree in Business Management, Leadership, and Organizational Effectiveness from Troy State University, and a Doctor of Education degree in Higher Education Leadership from Nova Southeastern University. He is also a graduate of the Higher Education Institute at Harvard University.

A native of Columbia, South Carolina, Dr. James is deeply committed to empowering the community through education and has played a transformative role in revitalizing Morris Brown College. His strategic vision, dedication, and numerous accomplishments have positioned the institution for a successful future.

Morris Brown Presidential History


Bishop Wesley John Gaines


Mary McCree, First Principal, (1885-1886)

Alice D. Carey, Second Principal, (1886-1887)

E.W. Lee, Third Principal, (1887-1888)

St. George Richardson, Fourth Principal, (1888-1892)


  1. A. St. George Richardson, (1892-1896)
  2. James M. Henderson, (1896-1904)
  3. J.S. Flipper, (1904-1908)
  4. E.W. Lee, (1908-1911)
  5. W.A. Fountain Sr., (1911-1920)
  6. John H. Lewis, (1920-1928)
  7. William A. Fountain, Jr., (1928-1950)
  8. Edward C. Mitchell, (1950-1951)
  9. John H. Lewis, (1951-1958)
  10. Frank Cunningham, (1958-1965)
  11. John A. Middleton, (1965-1973)
  12. Robert Threatt, (1973-1984)
  13. Calvert H. Smith, (1984-1992)
  14. Samuel D. Jolley, Jr., (1993-1997)
  15. Delores E. Cross, (1998-2002)
  16. Charles E. Taylor, (2002-2003)
  17. Samuel D. Jolley, Jr., (2004-2006)
  18. Stanley J. Pritchett, Sr., (2006-2018)
  19. Kevin E. James, (March 1, 2019-Present)